Boogiepop Doesn’t Laugh Teaser PV Shows Off Stunning Action in Dark Fantasy World

The official website for the upcoming new TV anime adaptation of Boogiepop Doesn’t Laugh/Boogiepop and Others, the first volume of Kouhei Kadono’s Boogiepop light novel series, announced today that it is set to premiere in Japan in January 2019. Along with the announcement, a 80-second teaser PV screened at the Dengeki Bunko Spring Festival 2018 event on March 10 is now streamed online.


As the clip shows “2018” in the end, the TV anime was originally scheduled to start airing before the end of this year.





Boogiepop Doesn’t Laugh/Boogiepop and Others was published from Dengeki Bunko in February 1998

and 22 volumes have been released in 20 years. It was previously adapted into a 12-episode TV anime

by Madhouse in 2000, under the title Boogiepop Doesn’t Laugh/Boogiepop Phantom,


Shingo Natsume, recently highly praised for his directorial work for the TV anime One-Punch Man, is

attached to direct, alongside series composition writer Tomohiro Suzuki (One-Punch Man, ACCA: 13-

Territory Inspection Dept.) and character designer Hidehiko Sawada (One-Punch Man episode animation

director). Kensuke Ushio (DEVILMAN crybaby) provides the soundtrack music, and the 2000 anime’s

Madhouse again works on anime production. 


Aoi Yuuki (Madoka Kaname in Puella Magi Madoka Magica) is cast as Boogiepop/Touka Miyashita,

and Saori Ohnishi (Muramasa Senju in Eromanga Sensei) plays Nagi Kirima.


Main visual


Source: TV anime “Boogiepop Doesn’t Laugh” official website/Twitter


(C)2018 Kouhei Kadono/KADOKAWA Ascii Media Works/Boogiepop Doesn’t Laugh Production Committee